[SOLVED] Control Word MailMerge from Excel

"Excel VBA Help"

Play Friv Now - Play Friv Games
Go Back   The Code Cage Forums > Microsoft Topics > Microsoft Excel Forum
Our Info Pages:-
The Code Cage - Microsoft Office help

Notices

Microsoft Excel Forum Members Post questions in this forum if they are related to using Microsoft Excel, this includes Worksheet Functions, Excel VBA Programming, Simple Macro Code & Charting, Excel formula etc.

Old 15th January 2014, 03:25
MS Office Version: MS Office 2003, 2007
MS Office Skill Level: Proficient with Excel

Posts Per Day: 0.01
My Top Tip Count: 0
Thanks to others: 5
USA
Default Control Word MailMerge from Excel
     Excel: VBA   

------ Register to get rid of these "In Post" ads! ------

Category: Excel: VBA   

I am a 70 year old self-taught programmer working with a non-profit. I have an Excel program where unskilled users enter data, and the data is used to set up a score sheet for high school events. I want to be able to print labels for score sheets from the program as well, since they already enter all applicable data into Excel, it would be nice for them to not have to re-enter it in order to print the standard size 1" x 2-5/8" labels.

I have found that the only practical way to do this is with Microsoft Word, and using the mail merge feature, as this makes it possible for them to adjust margins and settings to easily match their personal printers. The program is used by volunteer parents of high school kids who usually have little or no Excel experience.

I send the user a Word Template which I ask them to place in the same location as the Excel program on their computer. The Template is called 'Label_Template'